Playing nice

This past weekend, Sophia had a playdate with her two friends, Charlotte and Olivia.  I have to say that the chemistry between the three girls is great.  With the exception of a short-lived tug-of-war between Sophia and Olivia ending quickly (seriously, it was 2 seconds) with an “I’m sorry”, would you believe no one fought over toys?  (No tantrums and no meltdowns either).  Honestly, they are all sweet little girls and, of course, their parents are doing fantastic jobs raising them.  {^_~}  I didn’t really know how Sophia would react to other kids playing with her toys, and I guess I can put that thought aside with a lot of fears I have of Sophia turning into a bully who doesn’t know how to share.  As it turns out, we’re not doing a terrible job as parents after all.  When Olivia had a bit of trouble getting out of Sophia’s car, Sophia made her way over to check up on Olivia asking “Are you okay?”.  At one point, I took out my camera to snap photos of the three adorable girls having snacks, and Sophia placed one arm around each of her two buddies.  When all was done, she clapped her hands together since she was completely aware that she had done good.  I must admit that Tita Chuchi, who spends a lot of time with Sophia, helps tremendously.  We have to give her a lot of credit for enforcing the values we are trying to instill in our little girl.  Every parent at one point or another (even for a split second) has a fear that their child will bully other children.  I am not sure why, but that’s the kind of thing that makes me lose sleep at night.  Strange, I know.  After witnessing Sophia interact with her friends, I could not be more proud of my little angel.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. heather
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 21:18:06

    i know i’m late… but better late then never! my goddaughter rocks!!

    Reply

Leave a comment