A day in the life of a Sassy Mom…

I have been home for a couple of weeks now.  My husband asks, “What do you do all day?” (Augh! The nerve.) Kidding, honey! I know he reads this blog religiously (or at least he better!).  While I have your attention, Joe, I need a new computer (preferably a laptop – I can get into specifics with you later). =P To answer my well-intentioned hubby’s question, I sit at home on the couch while Tita/Lola Chuchi and I watch soaps and eat bon-bons.  We let Sophia frolic in her dirty diaper until her hearts content.  Ha! Ha! Now you know this isn’t true because Joe does the grocery shopping and he knows full well he has not once bought us bon-bons. 

I have been spending a lot of time in the kitchen.  For lunch, I made Sophia a dish with beef and onions over rice.  The beef was marinated in soy sauce, vinegar and garlic for about 45 minutes before I simmered it.  I also got a head start on tomorrow’s lunch.  I had this crazy idea to attempt Tandoori chicken.  I surprised myself when I realized I had all the ingredients except the chicken and plain yogurt.  Don’t you just love when that happens??

Last week, Tita Chuchi and I went to Karma Kafe in Hoboken.  http://www.karmakafe.com/  I love this place!  Even though the space is small and it’s too tight for the spacecraft I call Sophia’s stroller, they always find a way to accomodate us.  The servers make funny faces at Sophia to get her to laugh (to me this adds to the kid friendliness of the place), and this particular time one server pretended to take Sophia’s water to get a reaction our of her.  Sure enough he got the “No, that’s my water”. Adorable! When we were having lunch, I let Sophia have some tandoori chicken, which she devoured.  For those of you who know Sophia know that it’s unlike her to devour anything (but fruits and vegetables). 

My daughter has developed a sophisticated palate.  I let her try everything and when I see she really likes something, I end up making it whenever I can.  She’ll be eating sushi in no time at all.

Leave a comment